Featured Legal Services

   > Trade Mark Registration

   > Internet, IT & E-business

   > HR & Enterprise Structuring

   > Deal Making & Contracting

   > IP Transactions

   > Commercialisation Strategy
 

About Dilanchian
  What we do |Testimonials |FAQ
 

IP + IT + HR + Business Law

Intellectual property Contracts

Web/IT Entertainment/Media HR

Technology Commercialisation

Keyword Search
advertising beverage branding business finance business law business model business policies and procedures business sale/purchase business structuring case study checklist china commercialisation communications compliance confidential information contract copyright corporations law definitions digital rights management domain name e-commerce entertainment industry entrepreneurship fashion food futurism human resources index information technology innovation intellectual property internet invention ip licensing ip management ip protection ip revenue ip strategy legal history legal knowledge management legal risk management licensing litigation marketing law migration music negotiation patent project management publishing retailing security spam statistics strategy taxation technology management trade mark trade practices trends trust law united kingdom united states valuation venture capital web 2.0 web ventures wine
Domain name scam made in China PDF  | Print |  E-mail
Written by Noric Dilanchian   
Tuesday, 04 December 2007

lightbulb_mandarinTwo weeks ago I had an email exchange with "Jeff Zhang" of This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , or so it seemed. His first sentence was: "This is Shanghai Long Yu Information Technology Co. Ltd which is a professional domain name registration and service company in China." I noted the "cn" in the email address, being for China. I checked, www.longyu.org.cn but it led to nothing.

 

The email claimed that "Efid Investment" was seeking to register www.dilanchian.com.cn. "Mr Zhang" said he'd checked and noted an apparent conflict with our firm's name. He asked if we'd authorised "Efid Investment" to register dilanchian for the .com.cn domain name for China.

 

It was a well-written email. I replied saying no such authorisation had been given and that everyone in the world  with the Dilanchian surname is my relative.

 

His response arrived quickly. It was one sentence, a question with no question mark at the end: "What's your company viewpoint about Efid's application". I had thought I'd made myself clear, my BS antenna went up. I waited.

 

Two hours later he sent me a longer email. He claimed he'd made further contact with "Efid Investment" and that it insisted that it's application should be registered. The email ended: "If you don't want to protect your intellectual property rights by registration, I will approve the Efid application. Hope you understand." A lightbulb turned on. Yes, I thought, I understand perfectly.

 

Today one of our trade mark clients received a similar email, this time from a "Robert Ma" with a Hong Kong email address. I had no hesitation in immediately advising it was a scam.

 

This evening I searched the web. There is plenty of evidence of this scam since 2006. Read examples here.

 

Call me if you have concerns about trade mark scams, domain name or trade mark registrations abroad, or IP rights in China. We do work for markets in China and Ai LIng is fluent in Mandarin.

 

 


Want free initial legal advice?

   

Let's talk about your intellectual property, commercialisation and business law needs. 

Call Noric Dilanchian of Dilanchian Lawyers & Consultants: Tel (+61 2) 9269 0229.

After hours send an email or better still an Enquiry Form. We'll reply with a costed proposal.

FAQ | What we do | Testimonials

   

Subscribe: Cue newsletter (free)  | RSS feed

Search: Overall site search  | Library-specific search  | Library downloads page    

Author & Firm: Author profile  |  Contact author  |  Firm Differentiation  |  Firm Brochure [PDF]

Add Comments
 
< Prev   Next >
Main Menu
Home
Profile
Solutions
Projects
People
Library
Training Services
Events
Location Map
Free Tools
chCounter: MySQL error!
SQL query:
  • SELECT COUNT(*) as users_online FROM `dilanch_joomla`.`jos_astats_online_users` as o WHERE o.timestamp_letzter_aufruf >= 1227372655;

Error number: 1194
Table 'o' is marked as crashed and should be repaired
Script stopped.